An ever-growing group of both public and private donors has helped make Perimeter what it is today: a world-leading centre for fundamental research, scientific training, and educational outreach. We are deeply grateful to all our supporters.



  • FOUNDER ($150M+)  Mike Lazaridis
  • $25M+  Doug Fregin
  • $10M+  Jim Balsillie


  • BMO Financial Group Isaac Newton Chair in Theoretical Physics ($4M)
  • Stavros Niarchos Foundation Aristarchus Chair in Theoretical Physics ($4M)
  • The Peter and Shelagh Godsoe Family Foundation Award for Exceptional Emerging Talent ($1M)


  • Clay Riddell Centre for Quantum Matter ($10M)
  • Centre for the Universe at Perimeter Institute ($5M)*
  • Mike and Ophelia Lazaridis Niels Bohr Chair in Theoretical Physics ($4M)
  • Krembil Galileo Galilei Chair in Theoretical Physics ($4M)
  • Krembil William Rowan Hamilton Chair in Theoretical Physics ($4M)
  • Gluskin Sheff/Onex Freeman Dyson Chair in Theoretical Physics ($2M)
  • Coril Holdings Archimedes Chair in Theoretical Physics (Visiting) ($1M)
  • Clay Riddell Paul Dirac Chair in Theoretical Physics ($1M)
  • Daniel Family James Peebles Chair in Theoretical Physics ($1M)
  • Delaney Family John Archibald Wheeler Chair in Theoretical Physics ($500,000)
  • The Ptarmigan Foundation Stephen W. Hawking Fellowship ($400,000)
  • Cenovus Energy James Clerk Maxwell Chair (Visiting) in Theoretical Physics

*Anonymous Donor


  • Cenovus Energy, in support of the Distinguished Visiting Research Chair program at Perimeter Institute
  • Maplesoft, Perimeter Educational Outreach Champion
  • Power Corporation of Canada, proud supporter of EinsteinPlus and Perimeter’s Teacher Network
  • RBC Financial Group, Presenting Partner, International Summer School for Young Physicists
  • Mike Serbinis and Laura Adams, in support of the Undergraduate Theoretical Physics Summer Program at Perimeter Institute. 


  • The Cowan Foundation
  • Robert and Pearl Radnitz**
  • Mac Van Wielingen, Viewpoint Foundation

AWARDS ($35,000+)

  • The Savvas Chamberlain Family Foundation Anaximandros Fellowship
  • The Joanne Cuthbertson and Charlie Fischer Graduate Student Award
  • The Hellenic Heritage Foundation Anaximandros Fellowship
  • The Brad and Kathy Marsland Honorary PSI Scholarship Award
  • The Margaret and Larry Marsland Honorary PSI Scholarship Award

DIRECTORS CIRCLE ($10,000-$49,999)


  • Bosch Community Fund, on behalf of ESCRYPT in Canada
  • Robin and Robert Ogilvie
  • Toyota Motor Manufacturing Canada (TMMC)


  • Denise and Terry Avchen, Environmental Research Advocates
  • The Boardwalk
  •  Mary and Ted Brough
  • The Kitchener and Waterloo Community Foundation
  • McMurtry Family Fund
  • The Musagetes Fund
  • The Pollock Family Fund
  • Ottawa Community Foundation
  • Donald and Eleanor Seaman Family Foundation
  • Brian Sullivan
  • The TRH Foundation
  • Alex White

FRIENDS (UP TO $9,999)


  • Jerome Bolce
  • The Savvas Chamberlain Family Foundation
  • Harbir and Monica Chhina
  • Michael Duschenes
  • Renée Schingh and Robert Myers
  • one anonymous donor


  • Don Campbell
  • Goldman Sachs**
  • Michael Horgan
  • Robert Korthals and Janet Charlton
  • John Matlock
  • Jennifer Scully-Lerner**


  • Debbie and Ian Adare
  • John Attwell
  • The Breunsbach Family**
  • Douglas Brock
  • David Cook
  • Ben and Mona Davies
  • J. DesBrisay and M. Cannell
  • Greg Dick
  • Edward Goldenberg
  • Ed Kernaghan
  • Leslie McCarley
  • ODC Tooling & Molds in memory of Leejay Julius Levene 
  • Zoltan Petrany
  • W. Michael Roche
  • Steve Woods
  • six anonymous donors

$250 to $999

  • Rick and Tricia Barfoot
  • Jeremy Bell and Sunny Tsang
  • Mike Birch
  • Caroline Cathcart
  • Rene and Janet Couture
  • Gheorghe Curelet-Balan
  • Leslie Dickie
  • Matt Douglas
  • Jane G. Hill
  • Colin Hunter
  • Kate Inglis
  • Nagaraja D Srinivas Jonnavittula
  • Jane E. Kay
  • Sheri and David Keffer
  • Chandra and Wendy Kudsia
  • D’Arcy and Catherine Little
  • Mario C. Lourenco
  • Dan Petru
  • Stefan and Shani Pregelj
  • L. Elizabeth Quinn
  • Nem Radenovic
  • Neil Steven Rieck
  • Duncan Shaw
  • John and Bridget Tielemans
  • Dale Vaillencourt
  • Jacqueline Watty
  • Nancy Wong
  • John Yee
  • 17 anonymous donors

148 donors have contributed gifts less than $250.


Carolyn Crowe Ibele, in memory of Dr. Richard A. Crowe



Emmy Noether was a brilliant scientist whose work underpins much of modern physics. Perimeter ’s Emmy Noether Initiatives – funded by Emmy Noether Circle donors – support and encourage women in science


  • The Bluma Appel Community Trust


  • The Simons Emmy Noether Fellows Program at Perimeter Institute ($600 000)


  • BMO for Women, Supporting Partner, Perimeter Public Lectures delivered by women
  • Linamar Corporation, Presenting Sponsor, Inspiring Future Women in Science


  • Anne-Marie Canning
  • Dr. Scott and Sherry Vanstone and family


  • Andrew and Lillian Bass
  • Patrice E. Merrin


  • Burgundy Asset Management Ltd.
  • Jane Kinney and Christian Bode


  • Mark Caplan and Claire Angus
  • Dorian Hausman


  • Heather and John Clark


  • Andrea Grimm
  • Beth Horowitz and Pat Munson
  • Laura Reinholz and Tony Fedun

$250 to $999

  • Sylvia Anstey
  • Mary Ann Burrows and Luke Hohenadel
  • Lisa Lyons Johnston
  • Leslie Rogers
  • Kim Tremblay
  • Douglas Mortley-Wood
  • two anonymous donors


  • Mrs. Margaret Tovell, in memory/honour of Mr. David Tovell


** Supporter of Friends of Perimeter Institute Inc., a 501(c)(3) public charity in the United States dedicated to promoting and supporting education, research, and programs that expand the public knowledge and understanding of theoretical physics.

This list reflects gifts received between August 1, 2018 and September 30, 2019, and multi-year commitments of $50,000 and more.

Charitable registration number: 88981 4323 RR0001 

To download the most recent PDF copy of the Donor List, please click here.


Government of Canada

  • $25 million grant through NSERC (2002)
  • $5.6 million grant from the Canada Foundation for Innovation (CFI) (2002)
  • $1.7 million grant from CFI Infrastructure Operations Fund (CFI-IOF) (2004)
  • $59,900 grant from PromoScience for ISSYP program (2005)
  • $50,700 grant from PromoScience for EinsteinPlus program (2006)
  • $50 million commitment from Government of Canada (2007)
  • $10 million commitment from Canada Foundation for Innovation (CFI) for research facility expansion (2009)
  • $50 million commitment from Government of Canada (2011)
  • $50 million commitment from Government of Canada (2016)

Government of Ontario

  • $15 million grant through Ministry of Economic Development and Trade (2002)
  • $5.95 million grant from the Ontario Research and Development Challenge Fund (ORDCF), shared equally with the Institute for Quantum Computing (2002)
  • $5.6 million grant from the Ontario Innovation Trust (OIT) (2002)
  • $20,000 for 2003 Summer Institute (2003)
  • $150,000 grant through Ministry of Economic Development and Trade for outreach programming (2005)
  • $120,000 grant from the provincially administered Research Performance Fund (RPF) (2005)
  • $50 million commitment through Ministry of Research and Innovation (2006)
  • $10 million commitment from Ministry of Research and Innovation for research facility expansion (2009)
  • $50 million renewal from Ministry of Research and Innovation (2011)
  • $2.95 million grant from Ministry of Education for outreach programming (2015)
  • $50 million commitment from Government of Ontario (2016)

“Perimeter is philanthropy re-imagined: philanthropy as a long-range strategic investment.”

Mike Lazaridis,

Perimeter Founder and Board Chair